Pesto might seem light it would be naturally vegan friendly because of its ingredients like basil, garlic, pine nuts and olive oil but it contains ingredients that are not even vegetarian. Luckily there are vegan versions widely available or you could have a go at making your own.
TL;DR
- Traditional pesto isn’t usually vegan because it contains Parmesan or other cheese made using animal derived rennet.
- The main ingredients in pesto, such as basil, olive oil, garlic and pine nuts, are plant based.
- Vegan pesto is available in some UK supermarkets, but always check the ingredients and labelling.
- Red pesto and green pesto can both contain cheese, so don’t assume either is vegan.
- You can make your own vegan pesto at home using fresh basil, olive oil, garlic, nuts and nutritional yeast.
Why Does Cheese Make Pesto Non Vegan and Vegetarian?
Cheese is made with dairy which means it is not vegan. Vegans do not eat any product that is derived from animals (for more info check out my guide to What Can’t Vegans Eat). However the cheese most often used in green pesto is also not suitable for vegetarians due to the use of animal rennet in the cheese making process. The traditional cheese used in pesto is Parmigiano Reggiano which uses animal rennet to coagulate the milk and separate the curds and whey.
Is All Pesto Non Vegan?
No, there are pestos that are suitable for vegans including some available in supermarkets. ASDA do their own vegan green pesto as well as Sacla.
How To Use Vegan Pesto
You can use vegan pesto just like a regular pesto. My favourite way to eat pesto is as a sauce for pasta or gnocchi. You could also do some baking with it. Why not try my recipe for Pesto Swirls, a soft, pillowy bread swirl which a filling of pesto.